Kuroshitsuji (Black Butler) Chapter 95

JEBSJSBSUEIEN3U3U38WBE SHIEKELEOO3EBEBSNEN3JEBJ!!!!

Alright, I think I got enough out of my system to kind of calmly type. (Yeah, right!)

WARNING. SPOILERS!!!! *also, this review is not as long as I would’ve liked it to be as I am typing it out on my phone STRAIGHT AFTER READING THE CHAPTER. That’s right, I pumped this out using only pure adrenaline and excitement to keep my thumbs tapping away. Btw, they hurt now. I’m hitting publish now.*

So Black Butler has just been updated and Chapter 95 is up and lemme tell you it was torture waiting for the full chapter to be downloaded to my phone. But soooo worrh it! Like OMFG. HOLY MOTHER OF COW.

I know, awhile back, I said I was going to review chapter 94, but stuff caught up and things happened so I never did. And doing that now would be pointless so I’m just going to sum up that chapter in case anyone needs it.

In my previous review Chapter 93 I had been discussing Ciel’s mental state and more importantly what John’s letter from the queen would say. Well, in chapter 93, while the contents of the letter are revealed to Sebastian (not us), the question I had posed concerning Ciel’s mental state was answered and fullfilled in Chapter 95 (this new chapter now).

Sebastian does get to eat Ciel’s soul. Well at least the chapter had ended with Sebastian throwing Finny out of the room (after having received and read the letter from the Queen) and attacking Ciel with the premise that because Ciel is apparently quitting his mission of revenge and thus is forfeiting his part of the contract, he is now able to consume Ciel’s soul, though it might not be as fulfilling as he would’ve wanted. At the end of last month, all of us fans were left with the emotional rollercoaster of the demon butler gobbling up his master.

Well…I wasn’t so much since I knew the manga could never end like that. Yana Toboso would never do something like that. So far she’s produced quality stuff and for her to go down in metaphorocal flames would be sooo disappointing.

But, anyways, that was the end of Chapter 94.

Now on to chapter 95 (as you can see the most anticipated chapter ever since the Sebastian being ‘dead’ one. Am I right or what?!)

Kuroshitsuji (Black Butler) Chapter 95

image

Yum, yum

With art like this, is it any wonder that Yana is my absolute favorite mangaka? Also, every sense of evil and darkness is portrayed right here! None of that Sebastian cares and blah blah blah. In this instance, we see what he truly is. A hungry demon.

I love Sebastian, however I know he is not the ‘great guy’ here. I think more often than not, people seem to forget that Sebastian is a very hungry demon.

Yana reminds us here. He is not a fluffy character, but that’s what makes him so cool and so loved. Who doesn’t like a little darkness?

image

Following the title page, we are shown Ciel talking to himself. This is important in that we get to see Ciel’s inner battle as Sebastian is preparing to tear into him from the outside. We know Sebastian’s about to eat him, but even then Ciel is still at battle with himself. He needs an extra push.

Not only is showing how everything is from the inside of his mind a relief from the dark, dark colors and shades (too much black gets hard to enjoy in manga since they’re usually only in two colors : black & white), it also allows us to fully understand what has been driving Ciel forward all this time.

image

Oh we know it’s for revenge but it’s always been very vague on who the revenge is for. Is it for his parents? His fellow sufferers? His pride? His home? Who exactly is he seeking revenge for?

I’m sure at one point, we’ve all thought that he was trying to seek revenge for the murder of his parents. It makes sense doesn’t it?

The only son left behind wants vengeance on those who murdered his precious and loving parents. It’s the stereotypical plot.

But. Not in Ciel’s case.

image

image

The eyes are beautifully sinister

Before going onto the next page, I’d like to note how perfectly every panel is drawn and how each contains the right images to fully convey the emotional train wreck Ciel is and how coyly Sebastian is cornering him into throwing everything in or abandoning everything out.

It’s either all or nothing. With nothing being, the loss of life.

image

Ahhh, here it is.

When it comes down to it – when we’ve truly picked away all the pieces away from the very core of Ciel’s motivation – we’re left with Human selfishness.

I personally think, Yana is sticking her middle finger out with this at everyone, reminding us that when you really get down to it, 99% of people will always look out for number one. Themselves.

Ciel is a symbol for all of Humanity. And that’s fine. Perhaps.

image

Look real carefully people. Watch as how Ciel transforms from the whimpering mess he was back to arrogant and bastard watchdog from before.

image

There’s nothing like being reminded about how truly selfish and pride driven you are to successfully snap ya out of your fear coma.

This reminds me of the moment in the Count of Monte Cristo (novel) where Edmond Dantes travels back to the prison he and Faria were locked in to be reminded of all the reasons why he was seeking revenge. After the death of Villefort’s son, the guilt was getting to him and he was so close to giving it all up. Yet, all it took was a bit of pain and anger and he was walking around with a clear conscience.

Fascinating, no?

image

But that’s fine right? Whatever gets the job done.

Afterall, the end justifies the means.

I’ve heard that somewhere…

…Oh wait…I think Hitler used that logic..

Whoops.

image

Well, our young master is back and Sebastian is as smug as can be. Did he plan all that? Or was this all a happy accident?

Either way I see it, it would’ve been a win-win for Sebby.

A meal or waiting for an eventual even more delicious meal.

image

Aww!

Oh wait…no…mood runied by foot!

Gah. Why does it always have to be feet? Though something could be said about the subservient symbol displayed here.

Something.

image

I laughed really hard at the top panel. Pure snarkiness and dark humour.

I think I’m going to say that from now on whenever someone asks me a question along those lines.

“No, no. I was only 90% serious.” Bevause obviously the other 10% makes all the difference in the world.

Anyways, after Ciel has come back to his senses we get light humour again, enough to get us to crack more than just a smile.

image

Notice, how light the panels are. Every tone and shade is very light instead of ths previous harsh and dark lines. This clearly indicates the mood Toboso wants us to feel.

Everything is good again. (Also, am I the only giggling like crazy at Sebastian “in agony”? Bahahahaha!)

image

But, all too soon we are returned to the blacker shades. Finally we get to see what’s in the letter!

Or at least part of it and boy does Ciel look pleased and excited. Albeit a very disturbing and sinister smile is on his face, but still it’s great seeing him smile again. I had been missing his usual cunning and disregard for other people plans.

image

And thus ends the chapter for this month.

Can I hear a “Hells YEAH!”

That witch girl had it coming, whatevee happens to her. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, I really really really did not like her and I suppose we all suspected she was involved in the mess from the very beginning.

I know I’m looking forward to next month’s issue.

Who’s with me?!

Posted on July 18, 2014, in Anime/Manga, My Blog and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I’m liking this even though I’m mad that I can’t read it.
    Oh, the fury.
    -Blaze

  2. HELL YEAH! I’M WITH YOU!!

Leave a Reply

