Did You Hate Her?

“I didn’t really hate Cinder, I realized when I learned of her marriage with the prince. My sister and I, of course hadn’t been invited, but considering how we treated her, I never expected an invitation. Still – I did not hate her. Perhaps I did before – well, strong dislike maybe – but not now. How could I?

How could I despise someone so good who simply doomed herself to a tragic ever after.

Looking back on all the things I did – we did, my sister and I – Cinder, like any other person would probably do, should have retaliated, harshly and terribly. No average person would stand that kind of abuse. Having said that though, I’d like to make a statement that I didn’t personally be too cruel to her. I think the term’s called tough love. Either way, I wasn’t as bad as my sister. But that’s beside the point.

What I really want to say is that, while you’re implying that I hated her, it’s not true. Go ahead, roll your eyes, but I did not hate her. And definitely didn’t wish for her bodily harm. Never did it once cross my mind – well, okay maybe in a dream once – but I certainly never acted that out. Ask my mother and sister about that stuff not me.

But to go back to why I just can’t… couldn’t hate her.

I think that someone who withstood all sorts of abuse, should try to get away from it, right? Try to have a happier life? It makes sense and if you get that then you get why she eagerly married the prince. But if you look really closely and I’m talking real close, you’d realize that she resigned herself to an even worse existence than the one she had with us.

At least we knew her name. At least we knew her and what she looked like. Basically we knew she existed. Give us some credit.

The prince on the other hand, he didn’t. Couldn’t maybe.

Didn’t even remember the face of the girl he’d danced with all night long and had to resort to a shoe test to find her. Isn’t there something wrong with that? I don’t get why Cinder married that amnesiac. Selective amnesia, there’s something to be said in those kind of marriages. Who knows what else to expect? Maybe, one day he forgets he has a wife or forgets he even has kids. What if he “forgets” that? And then decides that he has to go find a new wife or something. What then? What would Cinder do?

Or better yet, what if he forgot she was even human and needed to breathe?

Like now, for instance.

Who knew pillows could be so dangerous, right?

So rather then come here and ask me if I did anything to Cinder and if I hated her, why don’t you go ahead and ask the prince if he forgot something as important as that?”

He sighs and leans back in his chair, closing his eyes briefly then opening them again.

“It’s funny,” he said, looking at me wearily, “the prince said something similar to that, except his was along the lines of jealousy and childhood trauma of always needing to be the center of attention. Any thoughts?”

I shrugged. “Interesting, I think that’s just interesting.”

 

 

This was our 15 minute Creative Writing Club Prompt for today. The prompt was to picture yourself as one of Cinderella’s step-sisters and put yourself in a positive light in any means possibly. So, naturally, my mind lit up and this is what was produced. Totally not following the fairy tale at all.

Posted on April 8, 2014, in My Writings, Prompts/Challenges and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. Interesting take on the story! Kind of frightening, though…

Leave a Reply

