Lessons Learned: Don’t Give Up

There are few things in the world that will actually draw a few tears of misery to spring from my eyeballs.

One, of course, being locked outside in this weather. Which has happened quite often this winter. I could go on about how I had to resort to untying our hammock from the trees with numb fingers and then huddling in a mass ball on our doorstep, but that has no importance for today. Instead, today is focused on what happened to me last night, or rather this morning.

I’m sure I’m not the only that has had this happen to them. And for those of you who do understand my pain – I’m sorry. I would only wish this stuff onto my enemies.

I had an assignment due at 11:59 pm. Naturally, I started at 8:30ish. It was for Economics and the writing portion was slowly but eventually finished. All that was left was drawing the graphs/diagrams. Now, this normally is easy for any other subject, but graphs for Economics? That’s a whole other ballpark.

So there I was, fumbling around with the “insert lines” feature of Pages, twisting and increasing the lengths of lines to create a somewhat decent diagram (and I’m sure there was an easier way to do this – but I’m not Pages savy or Word savy for that matter), when Pages decides that it hates me and so shuts down. Shuts. Down. Just. Like. That.

I swore in both Spanish and English, even adding my own made up swear words. Even if he’d been served actual shit on a stick, Chef Ramsey would have had nothing on me with the amount of swearing that transpired in our kitchen. (I like doing homework next to the ‘fridge.)

I booted Pages back up and crossed my fingers. Whole lot of good that did. My work was gone, probably floating around laughing its ass off at how screwed I was.

So I let a few angry misery-filled tears out and slammed my fist onto the table, waking my mom up. (It surprised me that she had slept through the cuss fest) She padded into the kitchen, took one look at my face, and immediate motherly concern took hold of her.

“What’s wrong?”

“I just failed Economics for the quarter.”

“What? Why?”

“It’s 11:00 and my homework’s due before midnight.”

“Okay..”

“My work just got deleted in front of my eyes. It’s gone.”

Why?

“The heck if I know!”

“So you have to do it again?”

“Even if I start right now, it won’t be done before 12.”

“So you have to do it again?”

“It will still be late.”

“So you have to do it again?”

*drops head on table with a sigh* “Yeah, mom. I’m doing it all over again right now.”

“Don’t fall asleep in class tomorrow.”

“Okay.”

And she leaves.

So I did it all over again and turned it in after midnight. Very sucky, but at least I did it. I had been contemplating just saying “screw it” and go to bed, but I didn’t. I very well could have though.

Why didn’t I? Because, even a 50 is better than 0. And I want to graduate. And go to college. And then get a job. And succeed in this world. Survive, live, and prosper, right?

I do not want to end up in a cardboard box across from Frank with the long beard full of bits of food and ants.

So, moral of the story is Don’t Give Up.

But who knows, Frank may actually be a cool guy.

And if there were any color markers lying around, the cardboard box could be pretty and homey too.

Posted on January 30, 2014, in My Blog, Quotes & Bits of Wisdom and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Good for you! The good thing about study is that once you’ve finished and attained that qualification THEY CAN’T TAKE IT OFF YOU! Mwahahahahaaaa! Suckers!

Leave a Reply

