Chapter Four I: The Wilson Gang

Previous: Chapter Three: Confused and Slightly Worried

“Seriously, what was that about, Cade?”

“I dunno.”

“You must know.” Joel lifted and pointed his fork at him. “I mean no one just gives someone three hundred dollars for no reason.”

Cade munched thoughtfully on a piece of chicken, trying to find a reason as to why Noah had given him the money. There was no reason for him to do so, in fact, following his previous attitude, hitting him would have been more predictable. It baffled Cade extremely. To get that much money wasn’t easy, not for him, yet Noah had given it to him with such ease. He narrowed his eyes. Rich people, easily throwing money this way and that.

But, he wasn’t one not to accept gifts.

Noting Joel’s gaze still trained on him, Cade returned to his friend’s previous question and shrugged. “I seriously don’t know why he gave me the money. And I don’t see why you care so much.”

“I’m worried for you.”

Cade grinned. “Worried? For me?”

Joel nodded energetically. “Yeah.”

“Since when does anyone need to worry about me? You of all people know how well I can take care of myself.”

“Still,” Joel stared at him intently, “I worry.”

“Well, don’t. Now are you going to eat that?”

Joel laughed and pushed Cade’s probing fork away from his plate with his own. “Eat your own damn food.”

“I did.”

“Then order more.”

“But, I want your food.” He whined.

“How about this: you tell me all about that guy and you can have the rest of what’s on my plate.” A mischievious glint formed in Joel’s eyes.

“Seriously?”

“Yup.”

“Alright then!”

“So…?”

Cade leaned back in his seat and folded his arms dramatically across his chest. “It’s story time kiddies.”

Giving him a flat look, Joel kicked his foot out and hit Cade’s shin. “Who are you calling a kid?”

“Ow!” Cade reached down and rubbed his injured leg. “Yeesh..would you prefer me calling you an old man then?”

“I’m not old!”

“Then what do you want from me?”

“Just…just continue with your story.”

Cade glared at him briefly then relaxed at the grin Joel gave him.

“Okay, like I was saying before I was rudely interrupted, I met Noah a few times before; that’s his name, by the way, Noah.”

“No-ah” Joel tested the name out. “Sounds dumb.”

“Jo-el doesn’t sound any better either.”

“Hmmph,” grumbled Joel. “So what then?”

“There’s nothing much to say after that. I ran into him, annoyed him a bit, and that’s all. I don’t know how that all amounts to him giving me money.”

“You sure?”

“Yeah I’m sure.

Joel bit his lip, stopping himself from saying anything else and then pushed his plate over to Cade. “Well, there’s your reward. Dig in.”

“Thanks!”

Joel watched Cade eagerly dive into his plate and pondered over what he had just told him. There was something he hadn’t said, Joel was sure of it. But what, he didn’t know. He would find out though. First, he had to get back onto his own two feet. Then he’d go truth-hunting.

It bothered Joel, how far he’d fallen. At twenty-six, he was currently living in a shithole apartment with junkies and hookers for neighbors.

Him being held hostage by Tray had been a relief. He hadn’t been scared at all. He had enjoyed the break from his horrendous living situation. There had been air conditioning and food. Plus, he’d known Cade would come through for him. He always did.

Which is why this job had to work for him. He couldn’t mess up and disappoint Cade, again. The kid was only nineteen, Joel should be taking care of him, not the other way around.

“Joel, I’m done. Can we leave now?”

“Sure, yeah, let’s leave.” Joel motioned for a waitress to come over. “I’m ready to go home anyways.”

Cade raised an eyebrow at Joel’s sudden lack of emotion. He was so sure Joel had been in a party mood, but he paid the bill and followed him outside without objection.

“Well to your house then.”

“I haven’t magically gotten a new bed since I’ve been captured, Cade.”

“So? I’ll take the couch like usual.”

“Uh, there’s a problem with that… Tray’s guys destroyed it when they, uh, came to collect the money I didn’t have..”

“Oh. Right.” Cade rubbed his chin, thinking. “We can share the bed then, that’d be fine right?”

Joel balked. “You want to share a bed?”

Cade looked at him curiously. “Yeah.. is that a problem?”

“No.” Joel said quickly. “It’s not a problem, I was just surprised, that’s all.”

“Well then let’s get going.”

“Quick question first.”

“Shoot.”

“Why aren’t you going home to your own bed?”

Cade looked down at his feet. I ran out of batteries and haven’t bought anymore yet.” he said quietly.

Joel’s eyes softened in understanding. He alone knew that Cade was intensely afraid of the dark and always kept a flashlight on since the hallway light would run too high a electricity bill. “Oh.”

Cade looked up miserably. “So it’s ok if I stay at yours?”

“Yeah, it’s fine.”

Cade brightened up, happiness restoring in his green eyes. “Then let’s get going.”

The two headed off, Cade skipping and Joel groaning in embarrassment at having to be seen with him.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

“Are you okay, Noah?”

“Eh?”

“You just gave someone you didn’t know a lot of money.”

Noah glanced over at Levi, the sheepish look still on his face from earlier. “It wasn’t a lot,” he mumbled.

“I managed to get a glimpse. There were clearly Benjamins being handed over.”

Noah looked away.

“So how much was it? Four hundred? Five?”

“…three…”

“You gave a stranger three hundred dollars.”

“Yes.”

Why?

“I don’t know, Levi!”

“That doesn’t make any sense.”

“Well what do you want? I just.. I don’t know.. he looked like he needed it.”

“Uh huh..”

“That’s all!”

“You know, he looked kind of familiar. Like I’d seen him before. And you two seemed to talk like you had met before…”

Noah squeezed his eyes shut. For sone reason he didn’t want Levi to recognize he’d met Cade before nor remember where. It was an odd feeling, but the desire to keep Cade his secret was strong in him. Maybe he didn’t want his best friend to know he knew a street rat, though he knew Levi wouldn’t mind. Levi didn’t care about social statuses like his old man did. So why was he so nervous?

“Ah…I think I remember!” Levi yelled triumphantly. He snapped his fingers and swivelled in his seat to smirk at Noah. “He’s the guy that ran into you the other day, right? The one that got punched by that store guy?”

Noah made a face. There goes wanting to keep Cade a secret. “Yeah and yeah.”

“So what’s the deal then? Anything I need to know about?”

“No.”

“Ouch. That was blunt.” Levi mocked a hurt heart as he pressed a hand against his chest. “What a friend you are.”

Noah grinned. “You know I’m great.’

“Keep telling yourself that.”

“Why? I have you and Yanez for that.”

Rolling his eyes, Levi reached for his drink and took a sip. So Noah didn’t want to talk about the blonde from earlier. That was okay, he’d just get Yanez to make him fess up later.

“Are you ready to go?”

Levi nodded and got up. Noah had already paid they’re bill awhile ago. They just hadn’t felt like leaving yet.

Leaving the diner, both men headed towards Levi’s car. “Any plans this evening?”

“Well Yanez and I were going to go see a movie together. Want to come with?”

“Would I be intruding?”

“Intruding?”

“Yeah intruding.” Arriving at the car, Noah leaned over and elbowed his best friend before pulling open the door Levi had remotely unlocked.

Levi scrunched up his face and opened his door. “Ew. She’s like a sister to me. To you. To us. Again, ew. It’d be incest.”

“Mhmm” hummed Noah as he settled into his seat. “But it’s not. You totally have the hots for her.”

“I do not.” rumbled Levi as he sat down, closed his door, and turned on the car. “That’s something you’ve fabricated in your messed up head. No factual evidencd collected.”

“That’s what you say. But it’s not the truth. She likes you back anyways.”

Levi barked out a laugh. “If anything, she likes you.”

“Hahahahaha!”

Starled, Levi faced the laughing Noah. “It’s true!”

Noah wiped the tears from his eyes. “Yanez liking me? She would rather kiss a snail than kiss me. She once called me a walking STD.”

“What?”

“Yeah, which is not true. I mean, I use protection and everything, all the time.

“That’s not the point…”

“It’s not?”

Sighing, Levi pulled out of the parking lot and started driving towards his apartment. “Are you coming or not?”

“Yep. I left some clothes at your place last time, right?”

“Yeah. And I washed them too.” Levi wrinkled his nose, remembering the smelly pile he’d found behind his tv.

“Thanks.”

“Why do you always leave your shit at my place?”

“I either don’t feel like picking them up or remember to take them home. It’s a bad habit I know.”

“I swear, if I have to wash your clothes one more time”

“You’ll murder me?”

“I’ll sick Yanez on you.”

Noah shuddered. “That would not be fun.”

“Then pick up your shit.”

“Fiiine.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

After changing, Noah made himself comfy on Levi’s couch. “What time do we have to go pick up Yanez?”

“We aren’t,” he heard from behind Lev’s closed bedroom door, “She’s meeting us there.”

“You know, it’s quite rude to make your lady drive herself to y’alls date.”

Noah ducked as a pillow was flung at his head. “Hey!”

“Shut the hell up!”

Next: Chapter Four II: The Wilson Gang

Posted on November 30, 2013, in Despite The Odds, My Writings, Novels and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

